Episode 1

New Departures Episode 1

It looks like you don't have Adobe Flash Player installed. Get it now.

Subscribe via iTunes

Welcome to the first episode of the new Sound and Music podcast series, New Departures.

Each instalment features mini-investigations into specific territories and movements, a glance at Sound and Music’s previous, current and future activities and a random assortment of interests, oddities and new releases that draw a line through a multitude of genres; from the fringes of radical art music to primitive noise rock, free improvisation, beat driven electronics, ambient drone, field recordings, psychedelic pop, nothing music and beyond.



Artist: Jemaa El Fna
Track: Essiniya
Taken from: Ecstatic Music of the Jemaa El Fna
Label: Sublime Frequencies
Artist: Zeitkratzer & Carsten Nicolai
Track: Synchron Bitwave
Taken from: Electronics
Label: Zeitkratzer Records
Artist: Bren't Lewis Ensemble
Track: Mirror Therapy
Taken from: Three Christs of Ypsilanti
Label: Siltbreeze
Artist: Zs
Track: Acres of Skin
Taken from: New Slaves
Label: The Social Registry
Artist: Jurg Frey
Track: excerpt from String Quartets
Taken from: String Quartets
Label: Editions Wandelweiser
Artist: Michael Pisaro
Track: excerpt from Transparent City
Taken from: Transparent City (Volumes 1 and 2)
Label: Editions Wandelweiser
Artist: Ducktails
Track: Land Runner
Taken from: Landscapes’
Label: Olde English Spelling Bee
Artist: Rangers
Track: Bear Creek
Taken from: Suburban Tours
Label: Olde English Spelling Bee
Artist: Forest Swords
Track: Glory Gongs
Taken from: Dagger Paths
Label: Olde English Spelling Bee
Artist: Daphne Oram
Track: Look at Life
Taken from: Spaceship UK –The Untold Story of the British Space Programme
Label: Sound and Music (View Project)
Artist: Chris Watson
Track: White Faced Monkeys and Red Rumped Caciques
Taken from: Whispering in the Leaves at Kew Gardens
Label:  Sound and Music (View Project)
Artist: Michael Prime
Track: excerpts from Hungry Ghosts and Plasmodium
Taken from: Borneo
Label: Mycophile Records

Most of the material featured in this podcast can be purchased from the following independent retailers:

Sound 323
Mimaroglu Music Sales (USA)
Second Layer
Volcanic Tongue
Aquarius Records

Presented by: David Rogerson and Jonathan Webb
Produced and Mastered by: Brains and Hunch
Intro track by  Brains and Hunch and taken from an original score for the animated short 'Grime City' by Sam Morrison.

Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016