Francis Chagrin Awards

Next deadline: noon Monday 15th August,
Produced by: 
Sound and Music

Want that helping hand in creating your new work?

The Francis Chagrin Award is for composers looking for that quick top-up to get them to the next step in creating new work. An easy application process could lead to getting awarded on average £100 for costs associated with composing. Apply now before the next deadline at Noon on Monday 15th August.

"Sound and Music is committed to supporting the extraordinary range of practices that make up new music in the UK, and this new award aims to provide regular support towards the costs associated with the making of work. Whatever style you are working in, whatever background you are from, if you are struggling with the costs of composing a new work, I would urge you to consider an application.” Richard Whitelaw, Sound and Music’s Head of Programmes

Find out more about previous recipients of the Francis Chagrin Awards here 

How to apply

You may apply for The Award at any time of year, completing a simple application form. There are three dates where applications are assessed across the financial year (April - March) in August, November and February. 


Noon 15th August 2016 for costs between 1st April 2016 - 31st March 2017.

  1. READ APPLICATION GUIDELINES  - contains more information about what you can (and can't!) apply for and eligibility criteria
  2. APPLY HERE - fill in a simple online form

Applications not received by noon on next deadline will be considered in the next round, if eligble.


Francis Chagrin was the founder of the Society for the Promotion of New Music (SPNM). During his career he composed symphonies, songs, chamber music, and over 200 film scores. His music is collected in Sound and Music’s British Music Collection.

Next Deadline: 15th August 2016

Read the Application Guide here 

Apply here 

Previous Recipients

Find out more about the latest recipients of the Francis Chagrin Awards here 


Sound and Music Administrator, Julia Baker's, blog on diverstiy and The Francis Chagrin Awards


Subscribe to our mailing list

indicates required
/ / ( dd / mm / yyyy )
How would you best describe yourself?
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016