New Music Resounds

Young composers explored a fascinating range of starting points based around improvisation, graphic and non-standard notation, musical ideas from other cultural traditions and sounds from the environment. They worked closely with five brilliant musicians representing a range of different cultures in order to explore new ideas, write them down and combine them. Led by Alison Cox and Kuljit Bhamra.


Lucy Biddle, Madeleine Dwyer, Lillie Harris, Sam James, Aimee Kwan, Thomas Lockwood, Kate Lowe, James Moriarty, Ben Parker, Matthew Petrie, Samir Rana, Joel Sinclair, Nicola Swan, Pete Turnbull, Tom Wallage, Hannah Woollacott


It looks like you don't have Adobe Flash Player installed. Get it now.

Track List

1: Aimee Kwan
2: Ben Parker
3: Hannah Woollacott
4: James Moriarty
5: Lillie Harris
6: Lucy Biddle
7: Madeleine Dwyer
8: Nicola Swan
9: Pete Turnbull
10: Samir Rana
11: Thomas Lockwood
12: Tom Wallage

In this project

In partnership with

The Purcell School of Music

Funded by

Thanks to our funders who make the Summer School possible

The Monument Trust

Musicians Benevolent Fund

Michael Tippett Musical Foundation
Seary Charitable Trust
D'Oyly Carte Charitable Trust
The Idlewild Trust


Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016