We have over 40,000 scores

About The Collection

The British Music Collection

2014 is a landmark year for the British Music Collection. In this year alone we will see the beginning of its transformation into a world leading resource for new music discovery, including the launch of a new, interactive and dynamic website; the launch of New Voices and their own dedicated microsite; the opening of a brand new archive centre at the University of Huddersfield; a partnership with Google Cultural Institute that will exhibit both the New Voices and the wider British Music Collection to a global audience of many thousands; plus a whole range of talent development, education and audience development activity that you can find out about on our website.

Some dates for your diary:

• May 2014 Testing of the newly developed British Music Collection website commences (including editing profiles, uploading scores and other content, embedding media and free tagging)
• June 2014 The redeveloped British Music Collection website goes live, giving composers greater control over their own profiles including the ability to add new digital acquisitions
• July 2014 Google Cultural Institute International Launch featuring Sound and Music's New Voices exhibition

To obtain early access and help test the new British Music Collection website, or to register your interest in curating a future Google Cultural Institute exhibition, please email angharad.cooper@soundandmusic.org.

Further information about the British Music Collection:

The British Music Collection is a remarkable resource consisting of over 30,000 scores and recordings from contemporary British composers. The majority of the collection dates from 1960 onwards, but it also encompasses material stretching back to 1900. It is publicly accessible and located in a bespoke search room within the Music Library of the University of Huddersfield. This online catalogue also provides access to significant digitised content.

The collection is made available for reference only and cannot be loaned or removed from the library. Access is open to the general public, as well as university staff and students.

To arrange a visit, please contact Huddersfield Music Library via the British Music Collection website. Please indicate the nature of your request so that we can best help you.


Within the Collection