Cut & Splice: Transmission Book

Transmission Book

ISBN 978-1-907378-03-4
Price: £10.00 (Buy Now)

This book was commissioned by Sound and Music to accompany Cut & Splice: Transmission held at Wilton’s Music Hall, 4–6 November 2010. It includes interviews with and statements by all the artists in the Cut & Splice: Transmission festival, newly commissioned texts, reprinted texts and interviews, graphic scores, visual interferences and archival material.

Featuring: Rudolf Arnheim, Antonin Artaud, Ed Baxter, Kjell Bjørgeengen, Jaap Blonk, Blood Stereo, The Bohman Brothers, Bertolt Brecht, Earle Brown, John Cage, Daniela Cascella, Nicolas Collins, Richard Crow, John Duncan, Fortunato Depero, Lucia Farinati, Félix Guattari, Esther Johnson, Douglas Kahn, Jacob Kirkegaard, Sharon Kivland, Tetsuo Kogawa, Jerome Kohl, Brandon LaBelle, Anton Lukoszevieze (Apartment House), Ma La Pert (Jennifer Walshe and Tony Conrad), Giorgio Manganelli, Guglielmo Marconi, Tom McCarthy, R. Murray Schafer, Max Neuhaus, Robert Normandeau, Lee Patterson, Resonance Radio Orchestra, Keith Rowe, Sound Threshold, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Neil Strauss, Carl Michael Von Hausswolff, Allen S. Weiss, Gerard Wells, Gregory Whitehead, Richard Whitelaw, Robert Worby, John Wynne.

Sound and Music commissioned Sound Threshold to respond to the theme of ‘transmission’ through a publication that would act as an extended programme for the Cut & Splice: Transmission festival and as a standalone book.

Front Cover of Transmission
Inside page of Transmission
Inside page of Transmission
Inside page of Transmission
Inside page of Transmission


 Transmission Book

Cut & Splice: Transmission
200pp, 165mm x 235mm
Buy Now

Published by 

Sound and Music

Commisioning Editors

Daniela Cascella & Lucia Farinati (Sound Threshold)

Designed by 


Festival Co-Producer and Co-Curator

BBC Radio 3's Hear and Now


Fundraising Regulator
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016