Digital Discoveries

digital discoveries
Release date: 25 November

Sound and Music and NMC Recordings are delighted to announce the release of Digital Discoveries, a collection opening up the music in the British Music Collection for new listeners.

The eight volumes display a huge range of musical styles from choral pieces by Gabriel Jackson and Richard Baker, solo piano works by Tansy Davies and Luke Stoneham, ensemble works by Philip Cashian, Joe CutlerGraham Fitkin, electro-acoustic works by Paul Whitty and Sam Hayden and electronic sound art by Katharine Norman and Evelyn Ficarra.

Digital Discoveries brings to the fore previously unreleased music from the British Music Collection and represents just a small percentage of the brilliant work in the Collection.

Housed at Huddersfield University, the British Music Collection is developing into a 21st century resource for today’s listeners and composers to explore the story of British music. The Collection contains both published and unpublished works, including many pieces that are out of print or hard to obtain. High-profile composers, such as Britten, Tippett, Birtwistle, Maxwell Davies, Cardew, Harvey, Weir, MacMillan, Turnage and Adès, are featured alongside currently emerging or less well-known composers.

Digital Discoveries is released on 25 November.

Pre-order all 8 volumes for just £35 at
Individual volumes are £5.99 (mp3) and £6.99 (FLAC) .


In this project

Get more new music

Find new music events near you with The Sampler new music listings.


Fundraising Regulator
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016