New Voices 2018 Announced!

New Voices 2018 Collage

Sound and Music is delighted to announce the 15 composers and creative artists who will be its 2018 New Voices, and the first group to go through this brand new artist development programme.

New Voices 2018 are:

Alex Ho, Andy Ingamells, Bex Burch, Daniel McBride, David Austin Grey, Edmund Hunt, Eska Mtungwazi, Eunseog Lee, Gugak Sounds, Johnny Hunter, Liz Johnson, Marcus Joseph, Stuart Brown, Supriya Nagarajan and Vicki Bennett.


Congratulations to our New Voices 2018! These fifteen are creating work across a very broad range of musical genres but they share a deep commitment to critical engagement with their practice. All fifteen New Voices want to make changes to, and effect development within, their work. They are learners who cultivate their craft and we hope to be worthy of the trust they have placed in us to work alongside them.



New Voices is Sound and Music's major Composer Development programme, lasting 18 months with an annual intake. It draws on the models from our previous Embedded, Portfolio and Pathways programmes, and on the partnerships and expertise nurtured through these schemes. Find out more here.


Alex Ho


    Andy Ingamells

Bex Burch


Gugak Sounds


Daniel McBride


David Austin Grey


Edmund Hunt


Eska Mtungwazi


Eunseog Lee


Johnny Hunter


Liz Johnson


Marcus Joseph

Stuart Brown

Supriya Nagarajan


Vicki Bennett


More on New Voices

Read about the New Voices Applicant data

Find out more about how we've changed our programmes

Supported By

PRSF    Cockayne Logo

RVW Trust Logo       London Community Fund Logo

Sound and Music gratefully acknowledges support from Garrick Club Charitable Trust.

Sound and Music is funded by public funding from Arts Council England and is proud to be a PRS Foundation Talent Development Partner

Arts Council Logo PRSF TDP Logo

Fundraising Regulator
Sound and Music|3rd Floor, South Wing, Somerset House, London WC2R 1LA|Tel +44 (0)20 7759 1800||Registered Charity: 1124609|VAT Reg No: 937 5533 96 

Designed by Fitzroy & Finn|Built by Platform3|Copyright © Sound and Music 2016